Skip to content

Interpreting the EU MACHINERY DIRECTIVE 2006/​42/​EC: An Interview with Ian Fraser

2014 April 18
by Doug Nix
Ian-Fraser-2-846x475

This arti­cle was orig­i­nally pub­lished on CEMarking​.net.

Check out the inter­view that Han Zuyderwijk of CEMarking​.net and I did with Ian Fraser, for­mer Policy Officer at the European Commission respon­si­ble for the Machinery Directive (2006/​42/​EC), and Team Leader about ques­tions related to the Machinery Directive (2006/​42/​EC).

During the inter­view, we discuss:

  • the reg­u­la­tory devel­op­ments in the direc­tive in the last ten years;
  • the con­cept of the ‘per­son autho­rised to com­pile the tech­ni­cal doc­u­men­ta­tion’ and how it dif­fers from the autho­rised representative;
  • the inte­gra­tion of risk assess­ment into the EMC Directive and Low Voltage Directive;
  • respon­si­bil­i­ties for prod­ucts placed in the mar­ket when a) the rel­e­vant direc­tives are amended, and b) rel­e­vant stan­dards are amended. What does that mean for the con­for­mity assess­ment and the Declaration of Conformity;
  • how the future amend­ments to the Medical Devices Regulation/​Directive relates to the Machinery Directive;
  • are elec­tro­mag­netic com­pat­i­bil­ity aspects of machin­ery going to be rein­forced in the Machinery Directive;
  • whether there should be more reg­u­la­tions or cer­ti­fi­ca­tion of CE/​Machine Safety consultants.

We briefly lost con­nec­tion and there­fore the record­ing was inter­rupted for a short while. Obviously, it pays off to join the live ses­sion ;)

Based on the feed­back we’ve received already, we are plan­ning addi­tional hang­outs like this to dis­cuss a wide vari­ety of CE Marking related topics!

Please leave your com­ments or ques­tions below.

Q & A SESSION ON THE MACHINERY DIRECTIVE WITH IAN FRASER

2014 April 16
by Doug Nix

Ian-Fraser-2-846x475

CE Marking is hard enough, and the rules change fre­quently. Give Google a rest. We have him: the man who wrote the Machinery Directive. If he can’t answer your ques­tion, surely Google won’t.

On 17 April 2014, at 11:00 EDT, 10:00 CT, 9:00 MDT, 8:00 PDT, [16.00 CET] CEMarking​.Net and MachinerySafety101​.com will be inter­view­ing Ian Fraser, for­mer Policy Officer for the Machinery Directive at the European Commission. 

Ian Fraser was Leader of the Team deal­ing with the mak­ing of the Machinery, Cableways, Lifts, ATEX, PPE and Outdoor noise Directives. He more than 18 years expe­ri­ence as an EU Policy Officer, and is respon­si­ble for pub­lish­ing sev­eral guides, includ­ing the ‘Guide to appli­ca­tion of the Machinery Directive 2006/​42/​EC’.

Register to attend this FREE webi­nar 

DETAILS:

Date: Thursday, April 17, 2014

Time: 4:00 PM ( UTC ) Time Zone Conversion

Organizer: CE Marking​.net,  han@aluragroup.com

Panelists: Han Zuyderwijk (CEMarking​.net), Ian Frasier, Doug Nix (MS101)

VENUE: Internet

 

CSA Z432 Safeguarding of Machinery — 3rd Edition

2014 January 27
Comments Off

If you build machin­ery for the Canadian mar­ket, or if you mod­ify equip­ment in Canadian work­places, you will be famil­iar with CSA Z432, Safeguarding of Machinery. This stan­dard has been around since 1992, with the last major revi­sion pub­lished in 2004. CSA has recon­vened the Technical Committee respon­si­ble for this impor­tant stan­dard to revise the doc­u­ment to reflect the cur­rent prac­tices in the machin­ery mar­ket, and to bring in new ideas that are devel­op­ing inter­na­tion­ally that affect what Canadian machine builders are doing.

If you have inter­est in this stan­dard and would like to have your thoughts and con­cerns com­mu­ni­cated to the Technical Committee, please feel free to con­tact me with your sug­ges­tions. Work starts on 28-​​Jan-​​14. Your input is welcomed!

All original content on these pages is fingerprinted and certified by Digiprove
WordPress Login Protected by Clef